Подпишитесь на рассылку!
Your data is protected
Can Muslims drink kvass?
Makruh drink or haram?

What is the strictest religion? You already know the answer to this question. This is Islam. The meticulous separation of all things that Muslims face is one of the characteristics of this religion. Everything that is allowed to Muslims is called "halal", and forbidden is called "haram". On this occasion, even a special book has been created, in which a clear explanation of the Sharia is given. Here you can find the answer to questions about prohibitions in all areas of life. Not surprisingly, these scriptures also focus on what Muslims eat and drink. There are many restrictions, both in terms of food and drink.

According to Islamic laws, people who practice Islam should drink only healthy drinks that are not prohibited by the canons. However, almost all types of drinks are allowed for consumption, except alcoholic ones. In addition, according to the commandments, any food and drink cannot be halal if they have at least once come into contact with haram. Such products become haram because they lose their "purity." What's the logic? The fact is that haram is any low-quality, stale, and therefore objectively harmful product. It cannot be mixed with "pure" products because it will be detrimental. In fact, even if haram was present in ordinary water, it should not be consumed.

Which drinks are haram?

Alcohol in concentrations that cloud your mind is haram. People who practice Islam call it "hamr". Halal drinks are not prohibited by themselves and do not come into contact with haram, in particular with alcohol. Among the strictly prohibited ones are any alcoholic beverages that intoxicate. Among these drinks is wine.

In such a situation, the curious reader will indeed have a question: "What about drinks if they contain alcohol, but in a small amount?" For example, take koumiss. This is a traditional drink among Kazakhs, Kyrgyz, Bashkirs. It is obtained as a result of alcoholic or lactic acid fermentation. On the one hand, it is an ordinary fermented milk product, which is not usually classified as alcoholic. However, with prolonged fermentation, koumiss becomes low-alcoholic. As a result of the alcoholic component of fermentation, a small amount of ethyl alcohol is formed. Thus, if you drink large quantities of koumiss, you can get drunk, insignificantly. The category of such products also includes katyk, ayran and kefir.

No prohibited ingredients are used in the manufacture of all listed products. They don't even come into contact with prohibited foods. For example, ethyl alcohol is not added to production. Its formation occurs naturally, and even then in small quantities. It is unlikely that you can find a person who can drink so much koumiss or fermented milk drinks to fully get drunk.

Can Muslims drink kvass?

Everything we talked about can be fully associated with kvass. This is a traditional drink of the Slavic peoples. By analogy with the drinks listed above, it is made by fermentation. It is based on rye bread and malt. Also, kvass can be made from berries or fruits. Previously, kvass was made using beer technology and it could really intoxicate. However, today such kvass is no longer produced. Much more familiar is a refreshing drink, which is created due to natural fermentation. Can you get drunk from kvass? Everything here is the same as with kefir and yogurt. The intoxicating effect is negligible.

However, Muslims believe that this drink has many of its own characteristics. You can drink it until the fresh kvass ferments. In this state, its strength is very small, and kvass cannot intoxicate and cause a person's mind clouding. In this form, kvass is considered halal. But if the kvass fermented and stood longer than it should, it acquires intoxicating properties. This is a sign of haram.

Going back to ancient times, the Arabs used nabiz, a drink made by infusing water with raisins. This drink can be called a kind of analogy for kvass, which is familiar to the Slavic people. According to legend, the Prophet Muhammad drank such a tincture for three days, and poured out what remained after the expiration of this period. All because of fermentation. Three days later, the nabiz took on the characteristics of drinks that contain alcohol. In the case of kvass, the situation is similar, however, just in case, it should be noted that a period of three days applies only to nabiz. If we talk about kvass, then the fermentation period can be different. This is influenced by the recipe, the temperature of infusion. Kvass is a drink that contains alcohol in the amount of 0.7-2.6% by volume.

What drinks and what kind of kvass can Muslims drink?

It is impossible to measure the alcohol content in kvass at home using a household alcohol meter. This can only be done in a production environment using sensitive equipment. For this reason, if homemade kvass is used, you need to monitor your feelings exclusively. If drunkenness is felt and there are fears that kvass may be fermented, then it is better to refrain from using it.

If we consider some reservations, then the use of drinks that contain a low concentration of alcohol in their composition is still acceptable. If you listen to the speeches of authoritative theologians, you can understand that there are four basic conditions for this. If these conditions are met, drinks containing a minimum proportion of alcohol can still be consumed.

Among these conditions:

  • The alcohol contained in the drink should not come from the fermentation of grapes.
  • The alcohol contained in the drink should not come from fermented dates.
  • As a result of drinking a beverage in large quantities, the mind should not become clouded and intoxication should not occur. Several criteria allow you to determine whether a drink is intoxicating or not. If you doubt whether to drink a particular drink or not, you need to answer some simple questions. The first - if you consume a large amount of this drink, will it lead to intoxication. The second is whether a person's mind may become clouded due to the use of another portion of this drink. If you drink kvass, even in large quantities, you will hardly get drunk. Even if you drink 2-3 litres of kvass, alcohol intoxication will still not happen. For this reason, you can use kvass. It is also worth noting that, compared to beer, kvass in no way evokes an association with impure thoughts and sins.
  • The basis for drinking specific drinks should not be the desire to imitate people of a different faith.
  • Kvass is a drink that belongs to the culture of the Slavs. This is one of the integral elements of the Slavic people. That is why, when it comes to imitation, Muslims should not consume this drink, solely to imitate another culture. This drink invigorates, quenches thirst, refreshes in the heat. You can love him only for that.

    Is there 100% halal kvass?

    Today, the halal food industry is developing at an incredible pace. Already today, samples of this drink have been created, which contain the minimum possible amount of alcohol. In addition, authoritative representatives of the Muslim world have provided fatwas (rules of conduct), which indicate that drinking fermented milk products (for example, koumiss) is also allowed. These drinks are halal.

    There are many varieties of kvass, from bread and okroshka to apple and berry one. The lovers of this drink are just crazy about it, while others do not tolerate it. However, it is quite difficult to find a person who is completely indifferent to kvass. If you are, then probably you simply did not drink real kvass.